KOSHER LICENSE

What is Kosher License?

In Hebrew, “kosher” means fitKosher food is any food fit for consumption by Jewish people.

The laws of kosher define which foods a person can and cannot eat, and also how they should produce and handle certain foods. The laws also state which combinations of foods that people should avoid.

The Torah, the first part of the Jewish bible, lays the foundations of kosher dietary laws. Practicing Jews believe that following a kosher diet is God’s will.

What is Kosher Certified?

For a product to be kosher certified, and to qualify for a kosher certificate, each ingredient, food additive and processing aid used in its production must also be kosher. Additionally, to be kosher certified, the production process must be suitable for kosher requirements and therefore it must be approved by a kosher auditor.

Products may be rendered non-kosher if their production lines and equipment are also used to manufacture non-kosher products.

Why this License is Required?

Kosher certificates are requested especially for food: meat (slaughter of animals and salting process), fish, milk and eggs, canned and preserved foods. They also include feed additives (preservatives and dyes) and fiber of animal origin.

Who can get Kosher License?

Food Growers

Food Processors

Food Transporters

Food Retailers

Restaurants

Food Packagers

Food Manufactures

Food Storage

Food Additives

Food Chemical

Food Cosmetics

Slaughterhouse

Document Required for Kosher License

Role of Shamkris and Process of Kosher License

Shamkris adopts a results-oriented approach to compliance with mandatory licence requirements in the organization. A simple and guidance methodology help organisation to achieve licence in a timely manner and cost-effective. Shamkris support 100% in advisory, Guidance, Compliance with respect to license requirements to obtain approval.

The License process described below:

GAP Analysis | Certification Body | Selection | Cost Estimates

Developing Documents

Plan Inspection

Certification Body

Yearly Compliance

Who can issue the Kosher License?

FAQ

Kosher certificates are requested especially for food: meat (slaughter of animals and salting process), fish, milk and eggs, canned and preserved foods. They also include feed additives (preservatives and dyes) and fiber of animal origin.

For a product to be kosher certified, and to qualify for a kosher certificate, each ingredient, food additive and processing aid used in its production must also be kosher.

Halal and Kosher refer to what’s permitted by Islamic and Jewish religious laws respectively. Halal is an Islamic term that means lawful or permitted. … Kosher is a similar term used to describe food that is proper or fit for consumption according to Kashrut, the Jewish dietary law.